Donor: Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
Application procedure: Online Application
Donor base: Germany
Reference number: -
Eligible applicants: Non-Profit Organisation
Deadline: ongoing

Financial details

Grant size: Medium - up to $1,000,000
Minimum grant size: -
Total available budget: -
Funding type: Grants
Maximum grant size: -
Funding ratio: Co-funding preferred


  • Agriculture & Rural Development
  • Children & Youth
  • Climate Change
  • Disability
  • Economic Development
  • Education
  • Energy
  • Environment & Natural Resources
  • Food Security
  • Governance & Democracy
  • Health
  • Human Rights
  • Peace & Conflict Resolution
  • Research, Technology & Innovation
  • Social Inclusion
  • Water & Sanitation
  • Women & Gender

Project Locations

  1. Africa

      Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

  2. America

      Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

  3. Asia

      Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, East Timor, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, West Bank and Gaza, Yemen

  4. Europe

      Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Georgia, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Ukraine

  5. Pacific

      Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu


1) Objective

Funding is provided for projects and programmes in developing countries that bring about a sustained improvement in the economic, social or ecological situation of the poor in developing countries, or effectively support the self-help efforts of these people and involve them as partners in the process of planning and implementation, or foster fulfilment of human rights in developing countries. Funded are projects and programs of private German institutions in developing countries in which the Federal Government has a development policy interest and which is in line with the development policy objectives.

These projects should improve: (1) the economic, social or ecological situation of poor population groups in the developing countries; (2) or the self-help efforts of these groups effectively and participate in the planning and implementation partnership; and (3) or the realization of human rights in the developing countries.

2) Eligibility

Applicants may be registered German associations, foundations or limited liability companies which are engaged in development cooperation and are recognized by the tax authorities as charitable or charitable. These are referred to as “private carriers”. Individuals cannot be funded.

3) Location

Private-sector projects can be supported in all developing countries of the DAC list. In the case of projects in emerging markets (Brazil, Mexico, India, Indonesia, South Africa, China), basic infrastructure such as construction activities in the health and education sector or the effective social projects can not be encouraged.

4) Budget

Funding ranges up to €100,000 with application deadline all year. For larger amounts, the annual application deadline is 15 May.

5) Application

Funding applications must be submitted via the online application portal. The applicant and the content and formal aspects of the application are checked by EG. It then passes the applications on to the BMZ together with its recommendation. There are no deadlines.

Login Account

Already a Rubnio Customer?

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.