Donor: African World Heritage Fund (AWHF)
Application procedure: Full Proposal
Donor base: South Africa
Reference number: -
Eligible applicants: Non-Profit Organisation, Social Business
Deadline: 03.07.2022

Financial details

Grant size: Small - up to $100,000
Minimum grant size: -
Total available budget: -
Funding type: Grants
Maximum grant size: -
Funding ratio: Co-funding required


  • Capacity Building
  • Environment & Natural Resources
  • Other
  • Social Inclusion

Project Locations

  1. Africa

      Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eswatini, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Togo, Zambia, Zimbabwe


1) Objective 

The African World Heritage Fund (AWHF) is an intergovernmental organization created in 2006 to support the effective conservation and promotion of cultural and natural heritage of outstanding universal value in Africa. The main objective of the AWHF is to address the challenges faced by African State Parties in the implementation of the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, specifically, the underrepresentation of African sites on the World Heritage List and the insufficient conservation and management of these sites.

Each year, AWHF provides conservation grants to African State Parties to implement projects and activities which focus on improving the sustainability and state of conservation of World Heritage properties. Project proposals MUST address challenges affecting the State of Conservation of selected World Heritage property (projects addressing the conservation issues raised in the State of Conservation (SoC) reports and the decisions made by the World Heritage Committee have added advantage). Projects focusing on entrepreneurship initiatives or addressing sustainability issues, including the engagement of the youth and women, at World Heritage properties. Projects aiming at enhancing the legibility and accessibility of World Heritage properties through digital technologies.

2) Eligibility

Eligible are Government institutions involved in the management and protection of World Heritage Sites.

3) Location 

Funds are accessible to all African countries that are Member States to the World Heritage Convention. These include: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

4) Budget

The grant size is not mentioned.

5) Application

Completed applications should be submitted via email by 3 July 2022.

Login Account

Already a Rubnio Customer?

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.