Donor: Samir Kassir Foundation
Application procedure: Full Proposal
Donor base: Lebanon
Reference number: -
Eligible applicants: Individual
Deadline: 01.04.2024

Financial details

Grant size: Small - up to $100,000
Minimum grant size: -
Total available budget: -
Funding type: Prize
Maximum grant size: 10.000€
Funding ratio: 100%


  • Media & Journalism

Project Locations

  1. Africa

      Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia

  2. Asia

      Bahrain, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

  3. Europe

      Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia


1) Objective

The Samir Kassir Foundation is a non-profit civic organization, working within the civil society and cultural circles to spread the democratic culture in Lebanon and the Arab world, encourage the new talents of free press, and build the movement for a cultural, democratic, and secular renewal. These are the conditions to lift the Arab populations out of their state of despair.
The Samir Kassir Foundation’s mission is built around three pillars:

  • The first pillar: preserving, translating, and spreading Samir Kassir’s literary, academic, and journalistic heritage.
  • The second pillar: promoting cultural freedom and free thought, through conferences, specialized seminars, and an annual art festival providing all social categories with access to international cultural expression.
  • The third pillar: defending press freedom, through monitoring and documenting violations perpetrated against journalists and media professionals, and awarding prizes to young journalists.

The award aims to “legitimise freedom of thought and encourage freedom of the press in countries that have committed to the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership, in order to assert their rejection of violence, intimidation, threats and recurring and consistent attempts to curtain freedom of expression.”

2) Eligibility

The contest is open to all journalists working in or for written (daily, weekly, monthly print or online) press, or audiovisual (TV stations, production houses, and online TV networks).

3) Location

The award is granted and fully funded by the European Union and is open, as per European Union rules, to nationals of the following countries: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

4) Budget

The winner in each of the three categories will be awarded €10,000.

5) Application

Completed applications with all submission materials must be sent by April 1, 2024 at the latest. Incomplete files will not be accepted.

Login Account

Already a Rubnio Customer?

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.